To main content

About SINTEF Energy research

Contact person

Board and management


  • Alexandra Bech Gjørv 
    (Chairman of the board), Senior Executive Vice President (Deputy CEO), SINTEF
  • Geir Kulås, EVP Renewable Power in Skagerak Energi
  • Bård Standal, Deputy CEO and director of Strategy & Energy Markets, Renewables Norway
  • Ragnhild A. Katteland, CEO Nexans Norway
  • Liv Monica Stubholt,
    Partner, Law firm Selmer DA
  • Ingrid Schjølberg, Dean and professor
    IE Faculty of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)
  • Olav Bolland, Dean
    IV Faculty Administration Faculty of Engineering, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)
  • Svend Tollak Munkejord
    Chief Scientist, Employees representative
  • Maren Istad, Research Scientist, Employees representative
  • Gunnar Berg-Karlsen
    Research Scientist,
    Employees representative


Key figures

Key figures per 31 December 2022

  • Share capital NOK 7,5 mill., € 0.75 mill
  • Equity NOK 534 mill., € 54 mill
  • Income NOK 688 mill., € 69 mill.
  • Employees 301

Annual Reports

Organisation Map

Organization map of May 2019
Organization map of February 2019

Deputy CEO Per Normann Mikalsen

Research Departments:

Energy Systems
Research Director
Knut Samdal

Electric Power Technology
Research Director
Dag Eirik Nordgård

Gas Technology
Research Director
Mona Jacobsen Mølnvik

Thermal Energy
Research Director
Petter Egil Røkke