2017: Machine Learning

Program

The 17th Geilo Winter School in eScience will be held from Sunday January 15th to Friday January 20th 2017 in Geilo, Norway.

This years topic will be machine learning, deep learning, and data analytics. The digitalization wave has brought with it an explosion in the variety and number of data sources, ranging from various physical sensors to text, video, audio, social networks, and simulation results. Traditional techniques such as simple statistics has shown to be insufficinent with such complex and massive data, but developments within artificial intelligence and machine learning has in the recent years shown great promise. Techniques within artificial neural networks, deep learning and data analytics are now able to extract knowledge hidden in vast amounts of data in a way on a level we have not seen before.

Algorithms within artificial intelligence are often applicable to a wide range of application areas, and the aim of this winter school is that participants should learn concepts, techniques, and algorithms for use in their own research.

Download flyer here.

 

 

JV: Joaquin Vanschoren
1: Introduction to ML in Python
2: Classification and regression
3: Data preprocessing and dimensionality reduction
Slides: Python intro, Scientific python, scikit-learn, OpenML, OpenML-overview, supervised learning, model selection.
Github repository

NLH: Nils Lid Hjort
1: Model Selection and Model Averaging
2: Confidence Distributions
3: Bayesian Nonparametrics

DD: Devdatt Dubhashi
1: Word Embeddings
2: Summarization
3: Word senses

RJ: Robert Jenssen, Michael Kampffmeyer, Filippo M. Bianchi
1: Deep learning by convolutional networks (Jenssen, Kampffmeyer)
2: Kernel methods and spectral clustering (Jenssen)
3: Recurrent neural networks (Bianchi)

MT: Mark Tibbetts
1: Industrial use-cases and workflows for ML
Simple regression problem, Downtime classification problem

AB: André R. Brodtkorb
Welcome & introduction
Summary

 

Lecturers

This years school will give you an introduction to machine learning, deep learning, and data analytics from experts in the field. Over the week-long school, the lecturers will cover topics including deep learning, convolutional networks, kernel methods, spectral clustering, recurrent neural networks, big data, cognitive computing, and more. The school will also include a tutorial on using scikit-learn from Python to use machine learning techniques.

Robert Jenssen, UiT, Norway
Robert Jenssen is Associate Professor at the Arctic University of Norway (UiT, Tromsø, Norway) Professor II at the Norwegian Computing Center (NR, Oslo, Norway), and Senior Researcher at the Norwegian Center on Integrated Care and Telemedicine (University Hospital of North Norway). At the Arctic University of Norwa he directs the Machine Learning @UiT Lab, with a focus on using information theoretic learning, kernel methods, graph spectral methods, and big data algorithms with deep learning.
Webpage

 

Devdatt Dubhashi, Chalmers, Sweden
Devdatt Dubhashi is Professor at Chalmers University of Technology (Gothenburg, Sweden), where he leads the Algorithms, Machine Learning, and Computational Biology group. He has a PhD from Cornell Unviersity (USA), has been a postdoc at Max Planck Institute (Germany), and  his research interests include design and analysis of randomized algorithms, machine learning for Big Data, and computational biology. He has previously served as an expert for OECD on the Data Driven Innovation report and on a Big Data panel.
Webpage

 

Joaquin Vanschoren, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
Joaquin Vanschoren is Assitant Professor of Machine Learning at the Eindhoven Unviersity of Technology (TuE, Eindhoven, Netherlands). He is the founder of OpenML.org, a collaborative machine learning platform where scientists automatically can log and share data, code and experiments, and the platform automatically learns from the data to help people perform machine learning better. His research interests also include large-scale data analysis of data including social, streams, geo-spatial, sensors, network, and text.
Webpage

 

Nils Lid Hjort, University of Oslo, Norway
Nils Lid Hjort is Professor at the University of Oslo. He is the author of several books on topics including Bayesian nonparametrics, model selection and model averaging, and confidence distributions. He has served on the board of several journals, and an elected member of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters. He is currently also leading the project FocuStat: Focus Driven Statistical Inference With Complex Data, funded by the Research Council of Norway.
Webpage

 

Filippo M. Bianchi, UiT, Norway
Filippo Bianchi is a post doc at the University of Tromsø. He received his B.Sc. in Computer Engineering (2009), M.Sc. in Artificial Intelligence and Robotics (2012) and PhD in Machine Learning (2015) from the "Sapienza" University, Rome. Filippo has worked 2 years as research assistant at the Computer Science department at Ryerson University, Toronto, and his research interests in machine learning and pattern recognition include graph and sequence matching, clustering, classification, reservoir computing, deep learning and data mining.
 

 

Mark Tibbetts, Arundo Analytics Inc, Norway
Mark Tibbetts is a data scientist at Arundo with a background in high energy physics and over ten years experience analyzing large datasets using advanced statistical techniques. He has a Ph.D. from Imperical College London, and has been a post doc and researcher at Berkeley Lab working with the ATLAS experiment at CERN. His research interests include the application of machine learning methods to industrial big data, and he aims to deliver high impact contributions to large scale data analysis and software engineering projects.
 

 

Michael Kampffmeyer, UiT, Norway
Michael Kampffmeyer is a Ph.D. student at the Arctic University of Norway, where he works on applications and development of deep learning algorithms in a joint effort with researchers at the Norwegian Computing Center in Oslo, Norway. Michael studies issues related to transfer learning, the handling of different image resolutions and multi-modality. He is also interested in the combination of CNNs and unsupervised learning.
Webpage

 

Posters

Johannes Beil, Monica J. Emerson, Anna Puig-Molina, Henning O. Sørensen, Robert K. Feidenhans'l
3D X-Ray Machine Vision for Better Catalysts

Aliaksandr Hubin, Geir Storvik
Efficient mode jumping MCMC for Bayesian variable selection and model averaging in GLMM

Aina Juell Bugge, Stuart Clark, Jan Erik Lie, Jan Inge Faleide
Semi-automatic interpretation of the Earth's interior

Allan P. Engsig-Karup, Steffen Holmslykke, Søren Lindegaard Grubov
Finding Common Root Causes in Autotest Results (Applied Machine Learning techniques)

André Ourednik, Peter Fleer, Stefan Nellen
Seeing Law as Quantities and Graphs Explorations in Digital History

Andrea Raffo, Oliver Barrowclough, Heidi Dahl, Tor Dokken, Michael Floater and Georg Muntingh
Locally refined approximate implicitisation for design and manufacturing

Carlos González-Gutiérrez, Mario Martinez-Zarzuela, F. J. de Cos Juez, F. J. Díaz-Pernas
Analyzing the performance of a tomographic reconstructor with different neural networks frameworks

Céline Cunen, Gudmund Hermansen, Nils Lid Hjort
When did author B take over for author A? Confidence Distributions for Change-Points

Chaoran Fan, Helwig Hauser
Fast and accurate Mahalanobis brushing in scatterplots, optimized on the basis of a user study

Erich Suter, Sergey Alyaev
Proactive geosteering workflow for enhanced oil recovery

Flávia Dias Casagrande, Evi Zouganeli
The Assisted Living Project: Responsible innovations for dignified lives at home for persons with Mild Cognitive Impairment or dementia

Femke B. Gelderblom and E. M. Viggen
Speech Enhancement with Deep Learning

Erlend Hodneland, Sergej Stoppel, Astri J. Lundervold, Helwig Hauser, and Arvid Lundervold
Predicting age from brain MR imaging data using algorithms for machine learning

Arvid Lundervold, Eivind A. Valestrand, Alexander S. Lundervold, Trygve Hausken
Predicting irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) from brain MR imaging data using machine learning

Min Shi, Hong Li
Intelligent Model Calibration using Multi-objective Optimization

Mohammed Sourori
Runtime Exploitation of application dynamism for energy-efficient exascale computing

Ole-Johan Skrede, Fritz Albregtsen, Håvard E. Danielsen
Cell nuclei segmentation using deep convolutional neural networks

Jean Rabault, Jostein Kolaas
Performing Particle Image Velocimetry using Artificial Neural Networks

Sigmund Akselsen
Professorship in AI and Machine Learning

Yaman Umuroglu, Nicholas J. Fraser, Giulio Gambardella, Michaela Blott, Philip Leong, Magnus Jahre and Kees Vissers
FINN: A Framework for Fast, Scalable Binarized Neural Network Inference on Reconfigurable Logic

Participants

NameAffiliationEmail
Adil Rasheed SINTEF adil.rasheed@sintef.no
Aina Juell Bugge Kalkulo AS / UiO aina@simula.no
Alberto Carrassi NERSC alberto.carrassi@nersc.no
Alexandar Babic GE Healthcare aleksandar.babic@ge.com
Alexander Selvikvåg Lundervold Bergen University College alexander.lundervold@hib.no
Aliaksandr Hubin University of Oslo aliaksah@math.uio.no
Allan Peter Engsig-Karup SimCorp AS aptk@simcorp.com
Anders Daasvand Sleire University of Bergen anders.sleire@uib.no
Anders Thoresen Sandnes Solution Seeker anders@solutionseeker.no
André Ourednik Swiss Federal Archives andre.ourednik@bar.admin.ch
André R Brodtkorb SINTEF Andre.Brodtkorb@sintef.no
Andrea Raffo SINTEF andrea.raffo@sintef.no
Andreas Amundsen SINTEF andreas.amundsen@marintek.sintef.no
Andreas Brandsæter University of Oslo andreas.brandsaeter@dnvgl.com
Anna Kvashchuk University of Stavanger anna.kvashchuk@iris.no
Anna-Lena Braatz Gexcon anna-lena.braatz@gexcon.com
Arne Morten Kvarving SINTEF arne.morten.kvarving@sintef.no
Arvid Lundervold University of Bergen arvid.lundervold@gmail.com
Asieh Abolpour Mofrad Oslo and Akershus Univ. College asie.ab.1024@gmail.com
Bjarne Grimstad Solution Seeker bjarne.grimstad@solutionseeker.no
Bjørn Lindi NTNU bjorn.lindi@ntnu.no
Carlos González Gutiérrez University of Oviedo gonzalezgcarlos@uniovi.es
Céline Cunen University of Oslo cmlcunen@math.uio.no
Chaoran Fan University of Bergen Chaoran.Fan@uib.no
Daniel Høyer Iversen SINTEF daniel.h.iversen@sintef.no
Daniel Stensrud Olderkjær Uni Research AS daniel.olderkjer@uni.no
Devdatt Dubhashi Chalmers dubhashi@chalmers.se
Eigil Samset GE Healthcare Eigil.Samset@ge.com
Eleonora Piersanti Simula eleonora@simula.no
Emanuele Gramuglia University of Oslo emanueg@math.uio.no
Emil Aas Stoltenberg University of Oslo emilstoltenberg@gmail.com
Erich Suter IRIS erich.suter@iris.no
Erik Vanem DNV GL / UiO Erik.Vanem@dnvgl.com
Erlend Hodneland MedViz / Christian Michelsen Research erlend.hodneland@gmail.com
Erling Andersen Haukeland University Hospital erling.andersen@helse-bergen.no
Evi Zouganeli Oslo and Akershus Univ. College evi.zouganeli@hioa.no
Fabian Bolte University of Bergen fabian.bolte@uib.no
Fatemeh Zamanzad Ghavidel University of Bergen fatemeh.ghavidel@uib.no
Femke B Gelderblom SINTEF Femke.Gelderblom@sintef.no
Filippo Bianchi Arctic University of Norway filippo.m.bianchi@uit.no
Flávia Dias Casagrande Oslo and Akershus Univ. College Flavia.Casagrande@hioa.no
Gjert Hovland Rosenlund SINTEF gjert.rosenlund@sintef.no
Gudmund Hermansen University of Oslo gudmund.hermansen@gmail.com
Gunnar Taraldsen NTNU gunnar.taraldsen@ntnu.no
Guttorm Alendal University of Bergen guttorm.alendal@uib.no
Haakon Egdetveit Nustad Oslo University Hospital h.e.nustad@medisin.uio.no
Håkon Marthinsen SINTEF hakon.marthinsen@sintef.no
Hans JULIUS SKAUG University of Bergen skaug@math.uib.no
Håvard Guldbrandsen Frøysa University of Bergen havard.froysa@uib.no
Håvard Kvamme University of Oslo haavard.kvamme@gmail.com
Hayat Mohammed Gjensidige Forsikring hayat.mohammed@gjensidige.no
Helwig Hauser University of Bergen Helwig.Hauser@UiB.no
Henrik Nyhus OneSubsea hnyhus@slb.com
Hugues Fontenelle Oslo University Hospital hugues.fontenelle@medisin.uio.no
Ida Drøsdal DNV GL Ida.Norderhaug.Drosdal@dnvgl.com
Ilse van Herck Simula ilse@simula.no
Inge Sandstad Skrondal Solution Seeker inge@solutionseeker.no
Ingerid Reinertsen SINTEF ingerid.reinertsen@sintef.no
Jean Rabault University of Oslo jean.rblt@gmail.com
Jens Olav Nygaard SINTEF Jens.O.Nygaard@sintef.no
Joao Goncalves Din Fabrikk Joao.p@dinfabrikk.no
Joaquin Vanschoren TU Einhoven j.vanschoren@tue.nl
Johannes Beil University of Copenhagen johannes.beil@nbi.dk
Johannes Langguth Simula langguth@simula.no
Jon Mikkelsen Hjelmervik SINTEF jon.m.hjelmervik@sintef.no
Juozas Vaicenavicius Uppsala University juozas.vaicenavicius@math.uu.se
Karl Erik Holter University of Oslo karleh@math.uio.no
Ketil Malde Institute of Marine Research ketil.malde@imr.no
Kevin Koosup Yum SINTEF kevinkoosup.yum@marintek.sintef.no
Knut Erik Knutsen DNV GL knut.erik.knutsen@dnvgl.com
Knut Rand University of Oslo knutdrand@gmail.com
Krissy McLeod Simula kristin@simula.no
Lukasz Mentel University of Oslo lukasz.mentel@smn.uio.no
Magne Aldrin Norwegian Computing Center magne.aldrin@nr.no
Marcia Raquel da Silva e Sousa Vagos Simula marcia@simula.no
Mareike Schmidtobreick University of Heidelberg mareike.schmidtobreick@uni-heidelberg.de
Margrethe Kvale Loe NTNU margrelo@math.ntnu.no
Mario Martínez-Zarzuela University of Valladolid marmar@tel.uva.es
Mark Tibbetts Arundo Inc mark.tibbetts@arundo.com
Martin Lilleeng Sætra Norwegian Meteorological Institute martinls@met.no
Michael Kampffmeyer Arctic University of Norway michael.c.kampffmeyer@uit.no
Michael Kraetzschmar Flensburg University of Applied Sciences kraetzschmar@mathematik.fh-flensburg.de
Min Shi Norwegian Meteorological Institute mins@met.no
Mohammed Sourouri NTNU mohammed.sourouri@ntnu.no
Nello Blaser University of Bergen nello.blaser@uib.no
Nikolai Sellereite Norwegian Computing Center Nikolai.Sellereite@nr.no
Nils Lid Hjort University of Oslo nils@math.uio.no
Nils Olav Handegard Institute of Marine Research nilsolav@imr.no
Ole-Johan Skrede University of Oslo / Oslo Univ. Hospital olejohas@ifi.uio.no
Pål Levold SINTEF Pal.Levold@sintef.no
Paul Lilley Gjensidige Forsikring paul.lilley@gjensidige.no
Per Aaslid SINTEF per.aaslid@sintef.no
Petter Bjørstad University of Bergen petter@ii.uib.no
Philipp Lösel University of Heidelberg p.loesel@uni-heidelberg.de
Qitao Gan Din Fabrikk Qitao.gan@dinfabrikk.no
Rahul Prasanna Kumar Oslo University Hospital rahul.kumar@rr-research.no
Renate Gruner Haukeland University Hospital renate@fmri.no
Robert Jenssen Arctic University of Norway robert.jenssen@uit.no
Samaneh Abolpour Mofrad University of Bergen asemane.ab61@gmail.com
Sebastian Matthias Braun TU München s.braun.eu@live.de
Sergej Stoppel University of Bergen sergejsto@gmail.com
Sergey Alyaev IRIS seal@iris.no
Seunghye Lee Sejong University lsh2002437@gmail.com
Shaafi M Kaja Kamaludeen TU Delft s.m.kajakamaludeen@tudelft.nl
Sheri Shamlou Solution Seeker sheri@solutionseeker.no
Shirin Fallahi University of Bergen shirin.fallahi@uib.no
Sigmund Akselsen Telenor Research sigmund.akselsen@telenor.com
Stine Ursin-Holm Solution Seeker stine@solutionseeker.no
Thomas Röblitz University of Oslo thomas.roblitz@usit.uio.no
Thore Egeland Norwegian Univ. of Life Sciences Thore.Egeland@gmail.com
Timo Klock Simula timo@simula.no
Tollef Struksnes Jahren University of Oslo tollef.jahren@gmail.com
Tomas Eric Nordlander SINTEF tomas.nordlander@sintef.no
Trine M. Seeberg SINTEF trine.seeberg@sintef.no
Trond Hagen SINTEF TrondRunar.Hagen@sintef.no
Ugur Alpay Cenar NTNU cenar93@gmail.com
Vegard Vinje Simula vegard@simula.no
Vidar Gunnerud Solution Seeker vidar@solutionseeker.no
Vidar Uglane Solution Seeker vidar.uglane@solutionseeker.no
Viktor Olsbo Chalmers viktor.olsbo@gmail.com
Viviane Timmermann Simula viviane@simula.no
Wouter de Bruin Statoil wbr@statoil.com
Xuyang Yuan Oslo University Hospital xuyang.yuan@medisin.uio.no
Yaman Umuroglu NTNU yamanu@idi.ntnu.no
Yevgen Ryeznik Uppsala University yevgen.ryeznik@math.uu.se
Zeljko Kereta Simula zeljko@simula.no
Zhouchen Kong Din Fabrikk kong.zc@dinfabrikk.no