

CO₂ Capture, Transport and Storage

TCCS-9 Call for abstracts

The 9th Trondheim Conference on Carbon Capture, Transport and Storage

> June 12-14, 2017 Trondheim, Norway





Organized by: NCCS – Norwegian CCS Research Centre under the auspices of NTNU and SINTEF





The $9^{\rm th}$ Trondheim Conference on ${\rm CO_2}$ Capture, Transport and Storage

The bi-annual Trondheim CCS Conference series is a leading scientific CCS technology conference. While the 4th conference in 2007 had 46 oral presentations and 215 attendees, the 8th conference in 2015 had 149 oral presentations and 350 participants from 26 countries. Building on the success of the previous TCCS conferences, the TCCS-9 is planned for June 12-14, 2017 in Trondheim, Norway.

Call for abstracts

Selection of oral presentations is based on extended abstracts. Extended abstracts (two pages, font 12) should be submitted to the Conference Secretariat by February 10, 2017. Based on the evaluation by the Scientific Committee reviewers, abstracts will be accepted for oral presentation or as posters. Abstracts and presentations must have high scientific quality and be written in a non-commercial manner. Abstracts are invited to cover the entire value chain of CCS technology development (see Scope and Objective below). Authors will be notified on acceptance by March 25, 2017. See the Conference web for guidelines.

Scientific papers (optional)

Authors are invited to submit a full-length scientific paper for review and publication in a special issue of a selected journal. Submission deadline is June 9, 2017, and accepted peer-reviewed papers will be published during 2017.

Important dates (2017)

Deadline submission of abstracts: February 10
Registration opens: February 1
Notification to authors: March 25
Early bird registration: April 7
Final program available: May 15



Scope and Objective

The 9^{th} Trondheim Conference will focus on research and development regarding CO_2 capture, transport and storage (CCS). The objective of the conference is to bring forward, present and discuss work undertaken within R&D institutions, universities and in industry. Abstracts are invited to cover the entire value chain of CCS technology development. Potential topics are (but not limited to):

- · Pre-combustion capture
 - Absorption/adsorption and membranes
 - Combustion
- Post-combustion capture
- Absorption/adsorption and membranes
- Other techniques
- Oxy-fuel capture
 - Oxygen production
 - Combustion
- · CCS and hydrogen combinations
- CCUS
- · CCS in energy intensive industries
- CO₂ negative solutions
- Transport
- Effects of gas impurities
- Corrosion and materials

- Storage
- Site screening and site monitoring
- Leakage detection, mitigation, remediation
- Well drilling and completion
- CO, EOR
- International R&D activities incl. pilot and large-scale activities
- Novel technologies
- Public acceptance and communication
- · CCS whole system issues
 - Techno-economic
 - Risk and value chain assessment, and system analysis
 - Policy

Scientific Committee Reviewers

Carlos Abanades CSIC-INCAR

Bjørg Andresen IFE
Karen Lyng Anthonsen GEUS
Antti Arasto VTT
Giuseppe Barbieri ITM

Sally Benson Stanford Univ.

Amy Brunsvold SINTEF

Avlar Braathen Univ. of Oslo

Avlar Braathen Univ. of Os Marie Bysveen SINTEF

Susan Carroll Lawrence Livermore NL

Gelein De Koeijer Statoil
Mario Ditaranto SINTEF
Remi Dreux Engie
Philip L. Fosbøl DTU
Francois Kalaydjian IFPEN
Earl Goether TNO
Alv-Arne Grimstad SINTEF

Eva Halland Norw. Petroleum Directorate

Stewart Haszeldine Scottish CCS Centre

Hans Aksel Haugen Tel-Tek
Karl Anders Hoff SINTEF
May-Britt Hägg NTNU
Robin Irons E.ON
Kristin Jordal SINTEF

Alfons Kather Technische Univ. Hamburg-Harburg

Inna Kim SINTEF Taek-Joong Kim SINTEF **Axel Liebscher** GF7 Erik Lindeberg SINTEF Michael Matuszewski **US DOE** Svend-Tollak Munkejord SINTEF Mona Mølnvik SINTEF Filip Neele TNO **GEUS** Carsten M. Nielsen

Kitty Nijmeijer TU Eindhoven
Truls Nordby Univ. of Oslo
Ingvild Ombudstvedt Arntzen de Besche

Kristin Onarheim VTT Sergio Persoglia OGS

Gary Rochelle Univ. of Texas at Austin

Nils A. Røkke SINTEF Günter Scheffknecht IVD

Wang Shujuan Tsinghua Univ.

Åse Slagtern Research Council of Norway

Svein Solvang Gassco

Roland Span Ruhr-Univ. Bochum

Aage Stangeland Research Council of Norway
Tony Surridge South African Centre for CCS

Jøril Svalestuen Gassnova SF Hallvard Svendsen NTNU Tore Andreas Torp Private Asbjørn Torvanger CICERO Sven van der Gijp TNO

Amornvadee Veawab Univ. of Regina





Scientific Committee

May-Britt Hägg NTNU (Chair SC)

Nils A. Røkke SINTEF (Chair Conf.)

Roland Span Ruhr-Universität Bochum

Alv-Arne Grimstad

SINTEF

Organizing Committee

Nils A. Røkke SINTEF (Chair Conf.)

Rune Aarlien SINTEF (Chair OC)

May-Britt Hägg NTNU (Chair SC)

An Hilmo

SINTEF and NTNU CCS Award - Call for nominations

About the award:

The SINTEF and NTNU CCS Award is given for outstanding achievements within the field of carbon capture, transport and storage (CCS). Achievements can be within the areas:

- · Scientific contributions and breakthroughs
- · Novel schemes for CCS
- Increased knowledge and dissemination of CCS
- · Promotion and initiation of CCS for pilot, demo and full scale

Provided worthy candidates, the award is given every second year in connection with *The Trondheim Conference on CO2 Capture, Transport and Storage*. This is an award for outstanding CCS achievements in general – not a "best paper award". Anyone can nominate one or more candidates. Especially, staff members at SINTEF and NTNU are encouraged to submit nominations. Both Norwegian and international candidates are equally eligible for nomination.

Criteria for the award:

- · The award is given to an individual
- The contribution of the nominee shall be of excellence and international acknowledgement according to the above designated areas
- The candidate shall have played a key role in the contribution or achievement
- The achievement should be of relevance to research activities at SINTEF and NTNU in a particular and/or a broader context

Award instruments:

- Stipend of NOK 25.000
- A plaque
- · Free participation at the next TCCS Conference

The awardee will be asked to give a 20 minute Award Winner's Lecture at the TCCS-9 Conference, on a self-decided CCS topic. The next SINTEF and NTNU CCS Award will be given in June 2017, at the TCCS-9. Deadline for nominations is April 15, 2017.

More information and nomination form can be found on the Conference website. You may also contact Dr. Nils Anders Røkke, Executive Vice President Sustainability, SINTEF.

Nils.A.Rokke@sintef.no

Erik Lindeberg (2011)



Tore Torp (2013) Retired/Statoil



Gary T. Rochelle (2015) University of Texas at Austin

Conference secretariat:

• An Hilmo, e-mail: Trondheim_CCS.conf@sintef.no

Conference organizer:

 SINTEF Energi AS, Org.nr.: NO 939 350 675 MVA, Sem Sælands vei 11, 7465 Trondheim, +47-73597200

For more information on submission of abstracts, template etc., please see the TCCS-9 website: www.sintef.no/projectweb/tccs-9/call-for-abstracts

