To main content
Digital Conference: 13 – 15 January
Presenting the best on-going research and innovation related to deep sea offshore wind farms since 2004.


More speakers to be announced.


Nils Røkke

Executive Vice President Sustainability - SINTEF

Executive Vice President Sustainability in SINTEF, the largest research institute in Norway with 2000 employees. Member of the management board of SINTEF since 2008. President of EERA- the European Energy Research Alliance, EERA has 250 partners from energy research institutes and universities in 30 European countries with more than 50000 people engaged in energy research. Head of the SINTEF Europe office in Brussels until recently.  PhD in combustion from NTH (NTNU). Gas Turbine Design and Development Manager in Rolls Royce Marine before returning to SINTEF in 2002 as Vice President Gas Technologies and Director of the Gas Technology Centre NTNU-SINTEF. Member of the European ZEP (zero emission power) Advisory Council, Co-chair of the Executive Committee of ZEP and member of the Portfolio Board (Energy, Low Emissions and Transport) of the Norwegian Research Council (RCN). Contributor in Forbes writing on energy and climate issues and also actively taking part in the public debate on the energy and climate transition.

Carlos Eduardo Lima da Cunha

Policy Officer, European Comission

Carlos Eduardo Lima da Cunha is a policy officer at the European Commission.
His current focus is on research and innovation on offshore wind, with particular interest in circular material, system integration, and societal and environmental issues.
Previously to joining the European Commission, he worked in the USA and Germany on regulatory affairs and biochemistry research.

John Olav Tande

Chief Scientist, SINTEF Energy Research

John Olav Giæver Tande, one of two chairs at the EERA DeepWind conference, is a scientist and Research Manager at SINTEF Energy Research, and a pioneer in floating offshore wind energy. He received the Mission Innovation Champion Award at the fourth Mission Innovation ministerial meeting in Vancouver, Canada, May 2019.

John Olav Giæver Tande is the initiator and chair of the international conference series EERA DeepWind. The conference was first arranged in 2003, and has since taken place annually in Trondheim, Norway. From 2009 until 2017 he was the Director of NOWITECH: Norwegian Research Centre for Offshore Wind Technology. 8-year, 40 MEUR FME programme funded by the Research Council of Norway (RCN) and national/international industry. The centre developed 40 innovations in offshore wind. 


In light of the global coronavirus situation, occasions to gather physically are limited. It has challenged us to find new solutions.

EERA DeepWind Conference 2021 will be a digital conference.
The digital format allows us to present speakers from all over the world, whilst ensuring a good meeting arena for what's important: hard science on offshore wind.


This years topics include, but are not limited to:
  • New turbine and generator technology

  • Grid connection and system integration

  • Met-ocean conditions

  • Operation & maintenance

  • Installation and sub-structures

  • Wind farm optimization and control

  • Experimental testing and validation

  • Energy transition perspectives


EERA DeepWind 2021 is an international event aiming to present the best on-going research and innovation related to deep sea offshore wind farms, both bottom-fixed and floating. The conference has been developing every year since 2004, and is established as an important venue on deep sea offshore wind R&D.


  • Deadline for abstract submission: 15 October 2020
  • Selection of presentations: 15 November 2020
  • Final programme: 1 December 2020
  • Registration closes: 5 January 2021
  • Deadline for paper submission: 5 January 2021
  • Conference: 13 – 15 January 2021
  • Publication of papers in an accredited journal -  Autumn 2021


Every year, our review committee selects the best scientific poster based on relevance, originality and content.


The conference is hosted by SINTEF and NTNU and organized in cooperation with the European Energy Research Alliance (EERA) joint programme on wind energy.